CHIPART (Paris 1774 - Copenhagen(?) c.1825)
Fishermen by a Cascade in the Stables of the 'Villa of Maecenas' at Tivoli
A small made up area at the lower right corner.
Laid down on a 19th century mount.
Inscribed Chipard. del. Copenhague. at the lower left of the mount, and Malet af Cipart. at the lower right of the mount.
485 x 378 mm. (19 1/8 x 14 7/8 in.)
The present sheet depicts the ancient Roman ruins of the so-called Villa of Maecenas, built on a hilltop at Tivoli, had since the 16th century had been thought to be the residence of Maecenas, counselor to the Emperor Augustus. It was not until 1825 that the ruins were correctly identified as the remains of a Roman temple dedicated to Hercules, which was later used as a stables and storehouse, and also a convent. The picturesque quality of the subterranean ruins, through which courses an underground tributary of the river Aniene cascading down a small waterfall, led numerous artists – including Michelangelo, Piranesi, Palladio and Fragonard - to make drawings of the site, which in the 18th century was thought to be the ruins of the stables of the Villa of Maecenas.
This large gouache drawing was formerly in the collection of the Danish lawyer, administrator and art collector Benjamin Larsen Wolff (1790-1866).
Benjamin Wolff, Engelholm, Denmark (Lugt 420), with his drystamp at the lower right
Thence by descent.